World Cup 2022: Watch Lionel Messi Snub Robert Lewandowski’s Apology

World Cup 2022: Watch Lionel Messi Snub Robert Lewandowski’s Apology

  • Lionel Messi had a minor incident with Robert Lewandowski during the Group C decider
  • Cameras spotted Messi ignoring Lewandowski's hand after Poland's captain fouled him
  • Messi had a difficult night in front of goal thanks to brilliance from Wojciech Szczęsny

Lionel Messi appeared to ignore the outstretched arm of Robert Lewandowski during Argentina's clash against Poland.

Lewandowski had fouled Messi towards the tail end of the last group C fixture at Stadium 974. The centre referee gave the foul and Lewandowski, in the spirit of good sportsmanship, reached out to Messi as if to offer an apology.

Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, World Cup
Lionel Messi snubs the hand of Robert Lewandowski during Argentina's clash against Poland. Photo by Tim Nwachukwu.
Source: Getty Images

However, Messi stared right ahead and completely ignored the hand of the Polish captain.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

The two patched up their differences however, as they shared an affectionate moment after the final whistle.

Read also

World Cup 2022: Messi insists he is 'still angry' with his penalty miss despite Argentina's win over Poland

Argentina beat Poland 2-0 to qualify for the knockout stages as group winners. Despite the defeat, Poland also went through as well, as they finished ahead of Mexico on goal difference.

Messi uncharacteristically missed a first-half penalty, but Argentina bounced back with goals from Alexis Mac Allister and Julian Alvarez.

How Argentina beat Poland

Sports Brief has also reported that Lionel Messi had a penalty saved but Argentina still reached the last 16 of the World Cup as Group C winners, after a 2-0 victory over Poland on Wednesday.

Poland also went through as runners-up, although a 2-1 win for Mexico over Saudi Arabia in the group's other game meant Czeslaw Michniewicz's side advanced only on goal difference.

Mac Allister's 46th-minute goal settled Argentina's nerves after a tense first half, before Alvarez doubled their lead just over 20 minutes later.

Messi's penalty miss

Read also

Ferdinand amazed by astonishing Messi in Argentina’s win over Poland at 2022 World Cup

Messi missed a crucial first-half penalty against Poland in a must-win final group game at the ongoing 2022 World Cup, Sports Brief has reported.

The 35-year-old Argentina genius proved his clutch powers to inspire La Albiceleste to a 2-0 victory over fellow Latin America nation Mexico, after their shock loss to Saudi Arabia.

The usually dependable Messi, who had expertly dispatched a penalty against Saudi Arabia, strangely missed from 12 yards following a big one-handed save from Poland goalie Szczęsny.

Source: Sports Brief News