World Cup 2022: Astonishing Tweet of Fan Correctly Predicting Messi’s Penalty Miss Hours Before Game Emerges

World Cup 2022: Astonishing Tweet of Fan Correctly Predicting Messi’s Penalty Miss Hours Before Game Emerges

  • Argentina defeated Poland to secure qualification to the round of 16 despite Lionel Messi missing a penalty
  • Messi's miss from 12 yards makes him the first player in history to miss two penalties at a World Cup
  • Despite the penalty setback, the 35-year-old became the most-capped Argentina player at the Mundial

A football fanatic on the micro-blogging app Twitter, with the username @Fede15i, has been making the rounds for his accurate prediction of the outcome of Lionel Messi's penalty.

The fan boldly predicted Messi would miss from the penalty spot, approximately four hours before Argentina's must-win tie against Poland.

For good measure, La Albiceleste's make-or-break tie against Poland was slated for 7.00 pm GMT at Stadium 974, making his prediction extremely outlandish considering Messi's 100 per cent record from the penalty spot at this year's Mundial.

Read also

World Cup 2022: Messi insists he is 'still angry' with his penalty miss despite Argentina's win over Poland

Lionel Messi, Argentina, penalty, miss, World Cup
Lionel Messi missed from the penalty spot in Argentina's two-nil triumph over Poland. Photo credit: @brfootball
Source: Twitter

However, whether by accident or design, Argentina was awarded a contentious penalty and up stepped Messi to add to his two-goal tally from 12 yards.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

But a big right hand from Poland goalkeeper Wojciech Szczęsny stopped the 35-year-old's attempt from the penalty spot, invariably validating the prediction of the Twitter user.

Following Messi's stunning miss, fans trooped to @Fede15i's timeline to hail him for incredibly getting his prediction accurate.

Twitter users comment on prediction

@zae_hd quizzed:

"Bro I scrolled down for 365 days to find this post. What you cooking? He actually missed a pen."

Another user @sulejnrr hilariously asked:

"Will I pass my exams this semester?"

@aspakp59 confessed:

"I am stunned."

@yournight_maree tweeted:

"Will I become a billionaire?"

@BlancoDam added:

"Wow, earned a follow."

Leo Messi misses penalty

Read also

World Cup 2022: Fans believe referees have soft spot for Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo with penalties

Lionel Messi missed a crucia penalty in the first half against Poland, in a must-win final group game at the ongoing 2022 World Cup.

The 35-year-old Argentina genius had proven his importance by inspiring La Albiceleste to a 2-0 victory over Mexico, after the South Americans' shock loss to Saudi Arabia.

Messi, who has been Argentina's goal-getter extraordinaire, assumed responsibility for the seemingly contentious penalty.

Messi chalks new landmark

Earlier, Sports Brief reported that Lionel Messi has become the most-capped Argentina player in World Cup history, after taking the field for his side against Poland on Wednesday evening.

The Paris Saint-Germain superstar captained La Albiceleste in their gigantic tie against Robert Lewandowski's side, in their final Group C encounter of the tournament.

The Argentine genius started alongside Manchester City forward Julian Alvarez and Juventus winger Angel Di Maria in a devastating attacking trident.

Source: SportsBrief.com