Top 5 Players to Wear No.9 Jersey for Barcelona Since 1995

Top 5 Players to Wear No.9 Jersey for Barcelona Since 1995

Isaac Darko
August 17, 2022 at 11:37 AM
  • Barcelona decided to give Robert Lewandowski the number 9 jersey that belonged to Memphis Depay
  • The Poland international wore the number 9 with Bundesliga clubs, Borussia Dortmund and Bayern Munich
  • Sports Brief has analysed the top five strikers to wear the iconic number 9 shirt at FC Barcelona

Legendary Poland striker Robert Lewandowski is the latest striker to wear the iconic number 9 jersey as a Barcelona.

The Poland striker made his debut for the Spanish giants on Saturday in their 0-0 stalemate against Rayo Vallecano at the Camp Nou.

The No.9 shirt was previously worn by Memphis Depay but has been handed over to Lewandowski as the Dutch striker has been asked to leave the club.

Samuel Eto'o, Luis Suarez, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Ronaldo de Lima, Patrick Kluivert, Barcelona
The strikers to wear the famous number 9 jersey at FC Barcelona. Credit: @ghanaballers
Source: Twitter

Barcelona can boast of some of the great players who wore the no.9 jersey, and Sports Brief has analysed the top five strikers to don the iconic shirt.

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

Luis Suarez

The Uruguayan forward joined Barcelona for a fee of around £65million after his superlative performance for Liverpool in the 2013-14 season.

Suarez immediately announced his presence in Spain and became one of the most lethal strikers in the history of La Liga.

Luis Suarez, Barcelona
Luis Suarez of Barcelona receives the Golden Ball trophy from Josep Bartomeu after the FIFA Club World Cup Final in 20015. Photo by Shaun Botterill
Source: Getty Images

He notched a remarkable 198 goals in 283 matches, securing La Liga on four occasions and the Champions League once during his six years at the club.

Suarez formed a deadly attacking trio alongside Lionel Messi and Luis Suarez, famously known as the MSN, as they broke a ridiculous number of records during their three years together in Catalonia.

El Pistorelo won his first Pichichi (top scorer) trophy in Spain in the 2015/16 season after registering 40 league goals. He also clinched his European Golden Shoe that same season as he ended the season with 59 goals and 22 assists.

Samuel Eto'o

Barcelona signed the legendary Cameroon forward from Mallorca in 2004 for a transfer fee reported around the region of €24 million.

After making his debut against Racing Santander, Eto'o developed into one of the best strikers in the world and went ahead to bagged an astonishing 130 goals in 199 games for the Camp Nou outfit.

Samuel Eto'o, Barcelona
Eto'o celebrates after scoring for Barcelona against Bayern Munich in the Champions League in 2009. Photo by Jamie McDonald
Source: Getty Images

Forming a lethal combo with Ronaldinho Gaucho, Eto'o was vital and scored in the final against Arsenal as Barcelona triumphed in the UEFA Champions League in 2006 - their first since 1992.

The four-time African Footballer of the Year also formed part of a deadly attacking trio alongside Lionel Messi and Thierry Henry in 2008-09, and scored in the Champions League final again to help Barcelona win the first treble in Spanish football history.

Eto'o was transferred to Inter Milan that summer despite his wonderful goalscoring record, with Zlatan Ibrahimovic joining from the other direction.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic

The Sweden international signed for Barcelona in 2009 in exchange for striker Samuel Eto'o, plus a reported fee of £59 million.

Ibrahimovic won one La Liga title and scored the only goal to hand Barcelona a vital 1-0 victory against their fiercest rivals Real Madrid.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Barcelona, Arsenal
Ibrahimovic (right) takes a shot on goal for Barcelona against Arsenal in 2010. Photo by Shaun Botterill
Source: Getty Images

However, his relationship with then Barcelona manager Pep Guardiola started to deteriorate and reportedly did not speak to the Spaniard from February 2010 till the time he left the club in the summer that same year.

Ibrahimovic joined AC Milan on a season-long loan before making the move permanent in 2011.

Ronaldo Nazario

O fenomeno joined Barcelona in 1996 for a then world record transfer fee of $19.5 million from PSV Eindhoven. At age 20, he was the youngest player to ever win the FIFA Player of the Year award in 1996.

The 2002 World Cup winner scored a remarkable 47 goals in 49 outings as Barcelona the Cup Winners' Cup and the Copa del Rey in the 1996/97 campaign.

Ronaldo Nazario de Lima, Barcelona
Ronaldo (right) in action for Barcelona against Real Madrid in the 1996/97 season. Photo by Andreas Rentz
Source: Getty Images

After just one season at the Camp Nou, Ronaldo then left Spain and switched to Italian giants Inter Milan in a world record deal.

Five years later, the two-time Ballon d'Or winner returned to Spain with Real Madrid.

Patrick Kluivert

The Dutch icon signed for Barcelona in 1998 and wore the No.19 kit for his first year at Camp Nou. But the striker switched to the No.9 jersey ahead of the 1999-00 season.

In his five years at Catalonia, Kluivert bagged 106 goals in 219 matches, but he failed to win a single major silverware during that time with Barcelona.

Patrick Kluivert, Barcelona
Patrick Kluivert played for Barcelona between 1998 and 2004. Photo by Boris Streubel
Source: Getty Images

Kluivert left Barcelona in 2004 on a free transfer to English Premier League side Newcastle United.

Here are the top ten Brazilians to play for Spanish giants FC Barcelona

Raphael Dias Belloli, popularly known in football circles as Raphinha, was unveiled by FC Barcelona on Friday, July 15.

The Brazilian forward has been on the radar of the Blaugrana since January as Xavi looks to bolster his frontline for the upcoming season.

With Raphinha becoming the latest Brazilian to sign for Barcelona, Sports Brief looks at the top 10 Selecao stars who have donned the jersey of the Catalan giants.

Isaac Darko photo
Isaac Darko
Editor- La Liga I Bundesliga I French Ligue
Luis SuárezRobert LewandowskiRonaldo de LimaSamuel Eto'oZlatan Ibrahimović