Cricket World Cup 2023: fixtures, teams, where to watch, location

Cricket World Cup 2023: fixtures, teams, where to watch, location

Planning for the 13th edition of the One Day International cricket competition, known as the Cricket World Cup 2023 is underway. It will be contested between only the best men's national cricket teams and is expected to run between October and November of 2023. This competition is being held in India for the first time.

when is the next cricket world cup 2023
New Zealand's Kane Williamson poses for a photo with the series trophy after game three of the One Day International series between New Zealand and India on November 30, 2022. Photo: Joe Allison
Source: Getty Images

Cricket is the most popular sport in the world after football. The first World Cup was held in 1975 and hosted by England. Discover more about this exciting global event that attracts thousands of fans.

Cricket World Cup 2023: locations

The ICC Cricket World cup takes place every four years. The last Cricket World Cup occurred between May and July 2019 at a single venue in Wales, England. This year, the event will take place across different stadiums in India. This will be the first time the country hosts the event after hosting tournaments in 1987, 1996, and 2011 alongside other countries.

When will the 2023 World Cup start?

This year's Men's Cricket World Cup will likely take place between October and November 2023. Previously, the event was scheduled to happen between February and March but was pushed forward after the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent global lockdown. The final match is set to take place on November 26, 2023. The opening match will happen in October 2023, but the precise dates remain unconfirmed.

How many teams are in the World Cup in 2023?

cricket world cup 2023 locations
Ben Stokes of England walks to receive his man-of-the-match award after winning the Final of the ICC Cricket World Cup on July 14, 2019. Photo: Gareth Copley
Source: Getty Images

The ICC Men's World Cup follows the ODI (One Day International) format, also known as the 50-over format. Therefore, one-innings matches of 50 overs per side are held, and each team combines technique, speed, and skill. At the Cricket World Cup 2023, all teams will qualify through a set of criteria.

Ten teams will battle it out in the 2023 event. Seven qualified automatically, following the 2019 ODI results and by virtue of being the host. These are:

  • India (Qualify automatically as the hosts)
  • New Zealand
  • England
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh
  • Pakistan
  • Afghanistan

Four more teams will battle it out to qualify for one spot per their ODI results. These are West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, and South Africa. Two more teams will fill the last two places after a World Cup qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe in September 2023.

This World Cup qualifier will feature the three teams that miss an automatic qualification and the lower-ranked ODI countries like Nepal, Zimbabwe, Oman, and Namibia. This year's competition will follow the one used in 2023.

how to watch the cricket world cup 2023
Chris Woakes of England(Left) poses after being named Man of the Match during the Semi-Final match of the Cricket World Cup 2019 between Australia and England on July 11, 2019. Photo: Gareth Copley
Source: Getty Images

The matches start with a round-robin stage, where the 10 teams play each other once. A win will be worth two points, while a tie or no result will earn the team one point. The top four teams will proceed to the semi-finals, and the two that emerge top will play for the final cup.

Cricket World Cup 2023: fixtures

The 2023 World Cup will have 48 - 50 matches. The first match is set to take place on October 10, 2023. However, the complete schedule is yet to be released, and the dates for the other matches have not been determined.

How to watch the Cricket World Cup in 2023

You have unlimited options of where to watch the thrilling matches depending on your country. These platforms include Star Sports in India, which will broadcast the event in the country and its subcontinent countries like Nepal.

Star India and Star Middle East also have broadcasting rights. Additionally, Foxtel and Kayo have broadcasting rights but without a free-to-air option. Viewers in USA and Canada can tune in to Willow TV and Sky Sports Cricket to watch the matches.

when is the next cricket world cup
Travis Heads of Australia, during an Australian Test squad training session at Sydney Cricket Ground on January 03, 2023. Photo: Jeremy Ng
Source: Getty Images

In Africa, SuperSport will televise the live coverage of the Cricket World Cup 2023. GOTV and DSTV subscribers will enjoy this service. The event will also be live on their digital platform

All Cricket World Cup winners

Many different countries have carried the cup since the event's premiere in 1975. Here is a list of all the 12 previous winners:

1996Sri Lanka
1979West Indies
1975West Indies

Thousands of fans are looking forward to the Cricket World Cup in 2023. As the details continue to unfold, netizens will be eager to see which countries qualify for the remaining slots and which country ultimately takes home the coveted cup.

READ ALSO: Who is the tallest cricketer in the world at the moment?

Sportsbrief published an article discussing the top 10 tallest cricket players in the world right now. It is not a requirement that cricket players be tall. However, some players have a distinct height that works to their advantage sometimes.

Muhammad Irfan of the Pakistan national team is the tallest cricket player, with a height of 7 feet and 1 inch. He is followed by Joel Garner, a former West Indies player who stands at 6 feet, 8 inches. Check out the article above and discover the tallest cricket players worldwide.

Subscribe to watch new videos