Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka Are Named the Country's Best at Cricket South Africa Awards

Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka Are Named the Country's Best at Cricket South Africa Awards

  • The 2021/22 Cricket South Africa awards were held virtually on Sunday night to honour the country's best cricketers from last season
  • The impressive Keshav Maharaj was named the SA Men's Cricketer of the Year
  • AIn ayabonga Khaka won the SA Women's Cricketer of the Year after firing the lady Proteas in an upward trajectory

Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka were named the 2021/22 SA Men’s and SA Women’s Cricketer of the Year at Cricket South Africa’s virtual awards ceremony which was held on Sunday evening.

It was a memorable occasion for Maharaj and Khaka, who were also voted by their teammates as the SA Men and SA Women’s Players’ Player of the Year respectively.

cricket south africa
Keshav Maharaj and Ayabonga Khaka were the biggest winners at the CSA Awards on Sunday night. Image source: Getty Images.
Source: Getty Images

In the men’s category, other winners included Kagiso Rabada, who was named the Test Player of the Year, Aiden Markram was named the T20 International Player of the Year, and Janneman Malan who was named the one-day international Player of the Year.

Read also

Rugby Championship: All Blacks end losing streak with good win against the Springboks

Exciting feature: Check out news exactly for YOU ➡️ find "Recommended for you" block and enjoy!

Marco Jansen was named the International Newcomer of the Year and Mitchell van Buuren was named the Domestic Newcomer of the Season.

Notable winners from the women’s categories were Lizelle Lee (Momentum Women's T20 International Player of the Year) and Laura Wolvaardt (Momentum Women's one-day international Player of the Year).

For The Best Delivery Fueled by KFC and voted for by the fans, Simon Harmer took the award for the dismissal of Najmul Hossain Shanto in the first test match against Bangladesh in Durban.

Nonkululeko Mlaba was honoured with the Makhaya Ntini Power of Cricket Award, which celebrates the perseverance, passion and overwhelming pride of people who have used their talent to change their circumstances.

On the domestic front, Sisanda Magala was the biggest winner of the night, taking home three awards.

Read also

Bongani Zungu completes homecoming to former club Mamelodi Sundowns

Magala won the Division 1 One-Day Cup Player of the Season, Domestic Players' Player of the Season, and the SACA Most Valuable Player Award.

Honours were also bestowed in the Amateur Awards category as Tazmin Brits took home the CSA Women's Provincial Player of the Year, Dewald Brevis named the CSA U19 Player of the Year, Boland’s Nathan Engelbrecht named the CSA Rural Cricket Player of the Year and T20 Community Cup Player of the Tournament.

The SA Fans’ Player of the Year went to David Miller. With all voting done on the CSA App, Miller was the fan’s favourite after an explosive white-ball season.

South African legend AB De Villiers makes history by launching a revolutionary new mobile cricket game

AB de Villiers is a legend in local and international cricket.

As reported by Sports Brief, following his international retirement AB is now expanding his legendary status with the launch of a new cricket game.

De Villiers announced his retirement from all forms of cricket in November 2021.

Source: Sports Brief News